Road Blocks

I said yes, my heart in my chest and as
The tires flew along pavements grey I
Thought of all the ways the wheels could
Fall off, STOP. The sign is clear but when I’m

 

Near you everything is magnetised and I am
Mesmerised by the hope you plant in me,
Happy is part of my vocabulary, laughter is
Part of my scenery, my best friends found

 

Some jealously because she can see you’re
Taking pieces of me and that makes me afraid,
It makes her afraid, that the jigsaw blocks might
Not fit together the way they were laid before,
In my casket, I haven’t visited since you walked

 

Into my gaze, peripherally it shouldn’t make sense
This maze is dangerous and new but I walk it with
You, holding hands. I like holding your hand. I
Never thought someone would hold my hand, my

 

Life is a rubber band prone to exploding in my face
You have faith when darkness is my friend, I’ve
Already discussed the end with a martyr and he
Told me for all the pain, I have some stretch left
In this lane. We won’t crash but if we do I’d like
To imagine you’ll be holding my hand

Leave a Reply

