Underwater Disaster

I don’t want the last words to be
The end. My story isn’t finished
Yet and cliché or not I can’t take
The knocks life has been dealing me,

I’m pleading, please! Let me breathe,
The sailboats gone under and I’m treading
Still water, Neptune’s daughter cackling
Under my feet, defeat is numbing out

My bones, this soul is slipping from this
Suit, underwater blues have got me
Singing sailors songs, the wood it
Creaks and drums along, the hours

Pass and I do too, fall asleep in freeze
And wake up new, mermaid tail and
Angels wings I’ve never seen such a
Thing, but it is me and I am the end,

No matter how time might bend.

Leave a Reply

